Langston Hughes Student Places in Congressional Art Competition

 -Artwork to hang in Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta Airport

By  Sheryl Gripper, Communications Fulton County Schools

Langston Hughes student DeVonte Few won 3rd Place in Congressman David Scott’s 16th Annual Congressional Art Competition and Awards. Few’s artwork, “Celebration of Red Skull,” will hang in the Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport’s Youth Gallery for one year. Additionally, he will receive a $3,500 scholarship from The Art Institute of Atlanta and a $600 summer seminar scholarship from the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD).

Congressman David Scott has awarded over $550,000 in scholarships to student artists to date. “I am so very proud of all of the students from the Thirteenth District who participated in my 16th Annaul competition,” Congressman Scott said. “This year we had such an impressive array of talent displayed by our students. I am truly honored to celebrate the artistic talents of our young people, as well as their supportive families and teachers.”

The 2018 winners include:

1st Place:          “Focus” by Mahagoni Bracey, McEachern High School

2nd Place:         “Untitled” by Bryce Landingham, McEachern High School

3rd Place:         “Celebration of Red Skull” by DeVonte Few, Langston Hughes High School

4th Place:          “Madame Butterfly” by Kiara Daniel, McEachern High School

5th Place:          “Bonne Nuit A Paris” by Joseph Sasser, New Manchester High School

Honorable Mention: “Dolores” by Jocelyn Granados, Mundy’s Mill High School

To find out more about the Congressional Art Competition contact [email protected]



Success is definitely in the cards for Frank McClarin Success Academy and its leader Dr. Lateshia S. Woodley. Dr. Woodley received the 2016 National Dropout Prevention Network Crystal Star Award of Excellence. A glowing write up in the Georgia Association of Educators magazine spotlighted the work she and her staff are doing at McClarin.

Dr. Woodley has also been  selected as the GAAE Neil Shorthouse Administrator of the Year along with Frank McClarin being named a GAAE Spotlight School.